

MEDIA RELEASE 27 September 2019

More information

Susan Hoerlein
Public Affairs and Communications Specialist

p (08) 9215 0733 **m** 0422 553 343

e susan.hoerlein@scitech.org.au

2019 Governor's School STEM Awards Finalists announced!

Finalists of the 2019 Governor's School STEM Awards have been announced, with two regional schools in the running for the first time.

The three primary and four secondary finalist schools demonstrated effective engagement in STEM across their student populations and wider community, achieved through an integrated vision, solid support for teachers, and good resourcing of their STEM programs.

Primary school category finalists (in alphabetical order):

- Baynton West Primary School (Karratha)
- Brookman Primary School (Langford)
- Pannawonica Primary School (Pannawonica)

Secondary school category finalists (in alphabetical order):

- Cecil Andrews College (Seville Grove)
- Hale School (Wembley Downs)
- Melville Senior High School (Melville)
- Presbyterian Ladies' College (Peppermint Grove)

Kalien Selby, Acting Chief Executive Officer Scitech said, "Congratulations to the finalists of the 2019 Governor's School STEM Awards. By championing STEM learning, these schools set a fantastic example of how to develop STEM skills and knowledge for students to thrive in a STEM-enabled future."

Each school will host a visit from the judging panel, who will meet with students and STEM leadership teams and watch the STEM enrichment classes in action to decide who will be the 2019 award winners.

Prizes for each of the primary and secondary school categories include \$2000 for the "Leadership Excellence Award" and \$1000 for the "Meritorious Leadership Award", a tour of Government House and a visit to Scitech for up to 90 students, or free rental and delivery of a DIY Science Kit for eight weeks.

Finalists were jointly <u>announced</u> today by the Hon. Dave Kelly MLA, Minister for Science, and the Hon. Sue Ellery MLC, Minister for Education and Training. The awards are championed by the Honourable Kim Beazley AC, Governor of Western Australia, and the winners will be announced at an awards ceremony at Government House on 26 November 2019.

The Governor's School STEM Awards are delivered through a partnership between Scitech and the Department of Jobs, Tourism, Science and Innovation. They are proudly supported by the Department of Education, Catholic Education Western Australia, Association of Independent Schools of Western Australia (AISWA), School Curriculum and Standards Authority, Science Teachers Association of Western Australia (STAWA) and the Mathematical Association of Western Australia (MAWA).

