page Governor School STEM Awards - Scitech Skip to Content Skip to Primary Navigation Skip to Search

Mobile header. Includes: optional ticker, search and main navigation

Today's show times Ticket Prices Buy Now

Find us

Call us 08 9215 0700

Visit us
City West Centre
Corner Railway Street & Sutherland Street
West Perth, Western Australia 6005

Get directions

Site header. Includes: search, main navigation and secondary navigation

You have reached the primary navigation

Scitech / Educators / Initiatives

Governor’s School STEM Awards

Governor's School STEM Award recipients announced.

You have reached the main content region of the page.

A Governor’s Schools STEM Awards message from His Excellency the Honourable Christopher Dawson APM.

2021 winners of the Governor’s Schools STEM Awards were announced at a ceremony, hosted by Governor of Western Australia, the Hon, Kim Beazley at Government House.

Congratulations to the following Schools

Primary School Category

Leadership Excellence Award (Winner) – Harrisdale Primary School (Harrisdale)

Harrisdale Primary School is a modern and innovative educational campus with a whole of school, inquiry-based ‘Future-focused Learning’ framework. Technologies are incorporated throughout the school’s learning programs supporting students to explore, innovate, create, collaborate, think critically and problem-solve. The school has displayed outstanding levels of engagement with external providers and authentic connections with parents and the community.

Meritorious Leadership Award (Runner-Up) – Marble Bar Primary School (Marble Bar)

At Marble Bar Primary School students are encouraged to confidently engage in the global world whilst practising the core values of the local Nyamal community. Aboriginal elders, industry leaders, and organisations are engaged as part of an integrated, culturally responsive and enterprising school community. Curriculum is strategically aligned to STEM capabilities and opportunities to learn ‘in country’ are incorporated with technology such as VR to support the students to become life-long learners.

Finalists: Baynton West Primary School (Baynton), Bunbury Primary School (Bunbury), Coolbinia Primary School (Perth), Sacred Heart Primary School (Highgate)

Secondary School Category

Leadership Excellence Award (Winner) – Joseph Banks Secondary College (Banksia Grove)

Joseph Banks Secondary College actively look for opportunities to ensure that STEM is embedded across the school in a way that is data driven and directly linked to senior courses and future pathways. In recent years, a number of key initiatives have been successfully introduced to provide real world, hands on learning opportunities, including the development of a Space Science Education Centre.

Meritorious Leadership Award (Runner-Up) – Ashdale Secondary College (Darch)

At Ashdale Secondary College, STEM is an integral part of the school culture, embedded as a priority from the earliest years within their four cluster primary schools. Strong engagement with community, industry, and higher education ensures that all students have the opportunity to engage with the latest technology whilst learning and developing core STEM skills.

Finalist: Dongara District High School (Dongara)

Science Minister Roger Cook acknowledged award recipients and their outstanding student participation in STEM education for this year.

“The winners of this year’s Governor’s School STEM Awards have gone above and beyond to develop engaging and supportive STEM learning environments.”

The Governor’s School STEM Awards were established to recognise the support and commitment of school principals and leadership teams in developing their schools’ science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education programs. The Awards identify high quality outcomes and approaches in STEM subjects as well as in the way STEM teaching is integrated across learning areas.

The Awards aim to raise awareness of the importance of STEM education and incentivise school leadership to support their teachers in undertaking STEM initiatives.

For more information on the 2021 Award recipients please click here.

Upon clicking the "Book Now" or "Buy Gift Card" buttons a new window will open prompting contact information and payment details.

Click here to go back to the top of the page.
Back to Top